Dogs and Cats – living together

When I first came to live with my mum and Thomas it was really scary. I didn’t know what was happening. This strange Lady (now my mum) kept stroking me and talking in a lovely quiet voice – even when I had an accident! I am clever she says because I only ever had the one accident in the house. I am so clever she thinks but I know I now have a home and you take care of your own den. Thomas and I kept very much apart at the beginning, I was afraid of him but he just watched me, didn’t attack me and bite me. Mum used to stroke him as well as me and gradually we could be in the same room together and now we are friends. My mum reads a lot from this machine she says it’s very helpful, she says this site gave her ideas to help me and Thomas be friends.

Cocker spaniel and cat at play together
Thomas and Lokma

When I first came to my new home, I was a bit scared of everything, so many new things. My food came in a bowl!! Really I didn’t know you had to eat out of it. At the centre I had to hide all my food so the other dogs would not eat it all. I also had to eat quickly or they stole it. It took mum 3 days to persuade me to eat out of the bowl, still not sure why she was upset when I hid the chicken meat under the pillow – I thought it was such a safe place to put it. I know now, so I only hide my treats when she gives them me. I have a great place under the rug except that pesky oops friend of mine sometimes like to play with them to annoy me…I don’t mind sharing though. Mum sat on the floor with me every meal time and handed me my food, she encouraged me to eat it there then she showed me the food in the bowl. As I am clever I soon learnt. Mum was really clever too; she got me a bowl in a stand so my ears could keep out of my food. Go mum…

Raised dowl bowl to help dogs with droopy ears getting them in their food
My food and water bowls
Leave a Reply

